40 Educators Join The New York Times Teaching Project

40 Educators Join The New York Times Teaching Project

The Learning Network is thrilled to welcome 40 distinguished educators to our second cohort of The New York Times Teaching Project. These middle and high school teachers, chosen after a competitive selection process, hail from 19 states and represent a diversity of subject areas, including U.S. history, English language arts, mathematics and philosophy. What unites these 40 educators is their passion for bringing the mission of The Times — helping people understand the world through on-the-ground, expert and deeply reported independent journalism — to their students and school communities.

We will kick off the program with a four-day virtual institute in July, during which participants will explore new ways to use The Times and The Learning Network; learn more about behind-the-scenes journalism; and begin to create their own innovative curriculum projects for their students. The program continues through the 2021-22 school year as participants work on their curriculum projects, collaborate virtually and share ideas with their fellow cohort members, their schools and the larger Learning Network community.

Meet these 40 educators in the slide show above. As this school year continues, we hope to tell you more about each of them, share their expertise and show you how you can adapt their curriculum projects to your own classroom.

Alexa Arboleda | DC International School, Washington, D.C.

Candice Autry | Sheridan School, Washington, D.C.

Christopher Anderson | Algonquin Middle School, Averill Park, N.Y.

Sharon Bunyan | Jettie Tisdale School, Bridgeport, Conn.

Jocelyn Burlew | Mason Middle School, Mason, Ohio

Jessica Castiblanco | Hoover Middle School, Albuquerque

Javier Gonzalez | Hollydale School, South Gate, Calif.

D’Essence Grant | KIPP Academy Middle School, Houston

Katelyn Janssen | Glen Hills Middle School, Glendale, Wis.

Amber Joseph | East Side Community High School, New York, N.Y.

Taylor Kockenmeister | Honors Academy of Literature, Reno, Nev.

Jenna Konstantine | Stephen Gaynor School, New York, N.Y.

Maura Raleigh | Central Middle School, Evergreen Park, Ill.

Kate Rennie | Kenilworth Junior High School, Petaluma, Calif.

Daniel Riggs | Ida B. Wells Middle School, Washington, D.C.

Valeria Rodriguez | Daniel Ortiz Middle School, Houston

Kenton Shimozaki | STRIVE Prep – Federal, Denver

Cori Abdolhosseinzadeh | Montbello Career and Technical High School, Denver

Maria Bartlett | ASU Preparatory Academy – Casa Grande, Casa Grande, Ariz.

Yumiko Bendlin | Keio Academy, Purchase, N.Y.

Kristen Fischer | Carlynton Junior-Senior High School, Carnegie, Pa.

Jordan Harris | North Shore Senior High School Tenth Grade Center, Houston

Lora Hawkins | Franklin School of Innovation, Asheville, N.C.

Celene Ibrahim | Groton School, Groton, Mass.

Rama Janamanchi | Lawrence School, Sagamore Hills, Ohio

Jonathan Lancaster | Bergen County Technical High School, Teterboro, N.J.

Brian McCormack | Lyons Community School, Brooklyn, N.Y.

Elizabeth Mee | Alliance Leichtman-Levine Environmental Science High School, Pasadena, Calif.

Rachel Nichols | High Tech High International, San Diego

Sarah Older Aguilar | Vistamar School, El Segundo, Calif.

Magen Rodriguez | Brooklyn Collaborative Studies, Brooklyn, N.Y.

Marcus Soule | The Governor’s Academy, Byfield, Mass.

Marla Sperling Reich | Freehold High School and Freehold Township High School, Freehold, N.J.

Jessica Stamler Cook | Big Sky High School, Missoula, Mont.

Anne Tommaso | Yarmouth High School, Yarmouth, Maine

Tom White | Morgan County High School, Madison, Ga.

Shreya Vora | The Nightingale-Bamford School, New York, N.Y.

Kristian Ward | Kingsway Regional High School, Woolwich Township, N.J.

Alexis Wiggins | The John Cooper School, The Woodlands, Texas

Faydra Womble | SandHoke Early College High School, Raeford, N.C.